Pagan Blog Project 2014: “V” is for Verification

One of the main complaints I see in the tumblr pagan sphere is that people don’t practice discernment enough. Loki’s not really sitting on your couch watching Gossip Girl with you. Athena’s not really arguing about ice cream flavors to offer her. You’re making it up. Your discernment isn’t up to snuff. You need to verify.

Look, far be it from me to say that someone’s experiences are invalid. Who knows. Maybe some gods have stronger opinions about rocky road than others. I have no idea.

That said, I’ve found that practicing proper discernment can be beneficial. It’s not easy, and it involves…drumroll…MULTI-STEP VERIFICATION!

Like some people, I get the occasional mental nudge, like a thought you’re pretty sure didn’t originate inside your own head. It’s a weird feeling. I’m not even 100% about what it is that happens in my own brain half of the time (ha ha).

So we have to verify, even if we’re sure. Like Mark Twain said, “It ain’t what you don’t know that gets you into trouble. It’s what you know for sure that just ain’t so.”

I usually do so via tarot; I shuffle the deck until I get the urge to pull a card. If I don’t understand, I say so, and pull another card. It’s a system that works for me.

Some people go even further than that and use another method of divination to figure it out – I’ve seen bibliomancy and pendulums used as the third step.

Even if it’s hard to swallow, if all three things point in the same direction…well, if it looks like a duck, walks like a duck, and quacks like a duck, it probably ain’t Godzilla.

One response to “Pagan Blog Project 2014: “V” is for Verification”

  1. The Rose Bell says :

    Damnit I was really hoping for godzilla :< I guess wolf man has always just been a dog all along *floats away in search of holy godzilla* XD

Leave a Reply

