Pagan Blog Project 2014: “O” is for Offerings

When it comes to paying tribute to my deities and spirits, I fully admit I’m not the most deep-pocketed devotee around. I can’t lavish wonderful gifts upon the entities in my practice, no matter how much I’d like to. Maybe one day I’ll be able to build nice lovely shrines for all of them and give daily offerings of scent and flame and food and trinkets. But right now, I can’t.

Here’s what I do instead.

For Bast, I give Her the standard offerings of cool water and bread, with lighting a candle and incense if I can and if time isn’t a concern. Sometimes I dedicate my food or tea to Her. Once She got honey candy, which She seemed to like.

The Assassin gets occasional offerings of Skittles and sour gummi worms, and one time he asked for saltines. Before I hurt my knee I used to do sit-ups for him every morning, and since I’m more healed I may start doing that again.

The Mechanic wants top-shelf alcohol when I can give it to him, but he has been known to gank a bag of Sour Skittles from time to time. He also tends to enjoy coffee when I can get it.

The Wolf likes tea, especially the fancier stuff, either black or with milk. We haven’t done food stuff yet but I’m guessing rare meat might be his jam. I usually light a candle for him too.

The City gets some litter picked up when I see it in town.

The Daemon doesn’t get anything I don’t get for myself.

I wish I could do more, but for now, this is the extent of my offerings…and everyone seems to be happy enough with them so far.

Tags: ,

One response to “Pagan Blog Project 2014: “O” is for Offerings”

  1. The Rose Bell says :

    I don’t think you even need to do anything more “lavish”–the offerings you do already are already I think more fitting than fancy offerigns could be. (Like picking up litter has such a bigger impact you know? Same with doing sit ups..it’s a full body devotion with sweat and blood to it already, powerful stuff. ) : )

Leave a Reply

